Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

I just want to get it out there and say yes, I had cookies for breakfast. A typical breakfast for me is a slice of sprouted grain toast with either butter if I’m drinking tea, or nut butter if I’m drinking coffee. Nothing crazy, I’m a creature who likes a routine. I’m also, however, a creature who likes a good cookie.

Not one to start the day on a bad note, I did a quick calculation of this cookie’s nutritional offerings. Yes, the toast with nut butter remains a more beneficial option but if you’re going to have a cookie for breakfast, this should be the one. First, since it’s made without eggs or butter there is no cholesterol to speak of. Second, it contains what I would consider a substantial amount of both protein and fiber with 5.2g and 3.2g each per cookie, respectively*. Third, fat. No, these are not low fat, but guess what? Your body needs fat in order to properly absorb nutrients. These cookies are made with peanut butter and olive oil, both of which up the tally if you’re keeping count on your fat intake but both provide their unique contribution toward your overall health. I cannot offer my thoughts on this with a specialized degree in nutrition or food science but as someone who remains diligent at monitoring what I eat. Yes, I ate cookies for breakfast and yes, I’d do it again!

*Calculations based on a batch of 20 cookies. Mine were on the large side. The recipe below suggests a batch should consist of 2-3 dozen cookies.

Quick disclaimer, the chocolate I dipped these cookies in is NOT vegan. To dip them was an afterthought and I used a Valrhona dark chocolate bar that I had on hand. If you wanted to finish these cookies off with a vegan-friendly chocolate option I would recommend using melted carob chips. I used to like eating Sunspire chips on Greek yogurt but I’m sure there are a wealth of brands to choose from at any Whole Foods or local health food store.

Peanut Butter Cookies

Recipe from 101 Cookbooks

Makes 2-3 Dozen Cookies

Ingredients:

2 C Whole Wheat Pastry Flour, spelt flour, or unbleached all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking soda

2/4 tsp fine grain sea salt

1 C Organic, Chunky Natural Peanut Butter

1 C Maple Syrup

1/3 C Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 ½ tsp Vanilla Extract

Directions: Preheat oven to 350F degrees. Place racks in the top third.

In a medium mixing bowl combine the flour, baking soda, and salt. in a separate larger bowl combine the peanut butter, maple syrup, olive oil, and vanilla. Stir until combined. Pour the flour mixture over the peanut butter mixture and stir until barely combined – still a bit dusty looking. Let sit for five minutes, give one more quick stir, just a stroke or two. Now drop by heaping tablespoonfuls onto parchment-lined baking sheets. Press down on each one gently with the back of a fork. It’s a loose batter, so if you’re set on doing criss-crosses, go ahead and chill the batter for an hour or so before this step. Bake for 10, maybe 11 minutes – but don’t over bake or they will be dry. Let cool five minutes and transfer to a cooling rack.

Optional Chocolate Dip: Melt one 3.5 oz bar dark chocolate in a small bowl over simmering water. Let cool slightly. Dip room temperature cookies into chocolate one at a time, letting excess chocolate drip back into the bowl before setting on a parchment lined baking sheet. Refrigerate to expedite cooling.

5 thoughts on “Vegan Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Oh my gosh. These cookies look delicious. I swear the blogosphere is on a mission to fatten me up!

    I’ve been uberly craving chocolate and peanut butter for like two weeks now and I keep getting super delicious looking teases like this! And I love the simplicity of the recipe. Natural sweetener and olive oil too? This might be something I can finally indulge in! Thank you for the recipe!

    xoxo

    – Eve

    • excellent cookies! They are soft, delicious, and filling! Everyone at work who tasted these cookies, said they were to ‘die for!’ Thanks for sharing.

      Lynnmarie

  2. Oh and do you think this recipe would work with honey as well? I don’t know how much maple syrup I have left but I have tonnns of honey given to me by a friend who keeps bees.

    Thank you again!

    – Eve

  3. Pingback: A Typical Week at the RGB | Peanut Butter Cookies with Maple Syrup and Coconut Oil

Leave a Reply

