Coconut Rice Pudding

I sort of had this idea that getting married wasn’t going to change a whole lot about my day-to-day life, and so far my daily routine remains intact as predicted. I still wake up early, hike before morning traffic pollutes the air too intensely, have toast and tea while reading 1,000 blogs, procrastinate brainstorm, cook, clean, work my part-time job, enjoy a glass of Malbec, edit photos, share a meal with my boyfriend HUSBAND (!), fall asleep during the opening credits of 30 Rock watch a foreign film, go to bed. Pretty standard. But I have to admit that something has in fact changed. I feel less anxious and more secure. I have all of this extra head space to focus on building other areas of my life. My existence feels less jumbled, and I don’t feel fueled to race through my day trying to do everything in the entire world all at once. It’s a relief. I mention this because it’s a revelation I had while making rice pudding. Seriously.

Have you ever made risotto? Making this rice pudding is similar. It’s not difficult but does require your steadfast stove-side presence for about 30 minutes. Annoying? Maybe, but if you have the time it’s totally worth it. Arborio rice (the kind used for making risotto) becomes exquisitely thick and creamy when cooked because it releases its starch as it absorbs liquid. The key is to add the liquid bit by bit while stirring constantly. I made this the other day with light coconut milk, maple syrup, and ground cardamom. Not only did it satisfy my coconut craving, but gave me time to ruminate on the simplicity of marital peace. Not bad!

Coconut Arborio Rice Pudding

Serves 6

Ingredients:

2 T Unsalted Butter

1 C Arborio Rice

4 C Light Coconut Milk

1/3 C Maple Syrup

1 tsp Ground Cardamom

½ tsp Vanilla Extract

Pinch of Salt

Toasted Coconut for garnish

Directions: Heat coconut milk in a large saucepan until almost boiling. Remove from heat and set aside. Melt butter in medium saucepan over low heat. Add rice and stir until well coated. Increase heat to medium and add ½ C coconut milk. Stir until milk is mostly absorbed. Repeat until all coconut milk is incorporated and rice is creamy and tender. During the last addition of coconut milk, add maple syrup, cardamom, vanilla and salt. Serve warm or chilled. If chilling, prepare to add approximately ¼ C milk or coconut milk to the batch before serving, as the pudding may be too thick once it has chilled completely. Garnish with toasted coconut.

7 thoughts on “Coconut Rice Pudding

  1. Pingback: Kerala Food: An Extract « Wandering Mirages

  2. Pingback: Coconut Rice Pudding Ice Cream | Cream and Cone

Leave a Reply

