Shooting Blanks

The other day I made something I’d been craving for years but had never tried to make at home: peanut butter pie. Have you ever tried it? I worked on and off for a few years at a restaurant that served this particular dessert. It was wildly popular, trailing perhaps only their homemade cream puffs and coffee toffee pie. So, anxious to inaugurate my new stand mixer, I quite literally whipped one up. I almost cried from laughing so hard as I took it out of the fridge (it’s a pie that you chill rather than bake) because it was probably the heaviest dessert I’ve ever made. I wish I had thought to weigh it. The taste was fantastic though. I made a few changes to what the peanut butter pie of my memories was like, which probably accounted for it’s heft since I elected to add about a pound of solid chocolate and nuts combined. Anyway, I styled it, grabbed my camera and started snapping away. It wasn’t until almost two hours later and well after I had sent the pie off in slices to various neighbors that I realized I’d photographed it without the camera’s  memory card. Nooooo!!

Sorry if I’ve primed you for a creamy peanut butter treat. I don’t have one today, but thinking about my time at that restaurant and their coffee toffee pie did have me in the mood for something with chocolate and toffee. Behold: chocolate bourbon toffee cookies!

It’s easy to get over the tragedy of a lost pie when you have rich and chewy cookies spiked with bourbon. Pie? Whatever.

These are dangerous. I found this recipe for salted chocolate toffee cookie and went at it, adding just a bit of bourbon. I baked half the batch as suggested in the recipe with a sprinkle of salt on top, but then realized I had about 4 tablespoons of chopped hazelnuts left in the cupboard so baked the second round of cookies with nuts on top. Verdict? Perfection.

Chewy Chocolate Bourbon Toffee Cookie

Adapted from Sel Et Sucre

Makes 3 Dozen Cookies

Ingredients:

2 C Semisweet Chocolate Chips

6 T Unsalted Butter, sliced

1 C All Purpose Flour

¾ tsp Baking Powder

¾ tsp Salt

3 Large Eggs

1 C Brown Sugar, packed

1 tsp Vanilla Bourbon Extract

2 T Bourbon

1 ¼ C Toffee Pieces

Coarse Sea Salt (optional)

1/4 Chopped Hazelnuts

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 Degrees F. In a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water, melt butter and chocolate chips. Set aside to cool slightly.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder,  and salt.

In a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, beat the eggs, brown sugar, vanilla and bourbon on high speed until light and fluffy, approx 5 min.

On low speed, beat in the melted chocolate and butter. Fold flour mixture in by hand until just combined then stir in toffee bits.

Drop dough onto parchment lined baking sheet in 2 T sized scoops. Sprinkle with coarse sea salt if desired or press a few pieces of chopped nuts into the dough. Bake on a rack centered in the oven for 12 minutes or until the cookies have shiny, cracked surfaces and are firm to touch at the edges but still somewhat soft in the middle. Let cool five minutes on the sheet before transferring to a wire rack.

 

4 thoughts on “Shooting Blanks

  1. I love anything with hazelnut so you just sold me on this. Where did you find bourbon vanilla extract? I don’t think I’ve ever seen it

Leave a Reply

