Spring Cleaning / Potato Salad

I’ve said it before: I love a clean fridge. So yesterday, in the spirit of spring, I emptied the contents of my refrigerator to see what I could use for a springy potato salad. Here’s what I came up with:

Here’s what I had on hand: baby potatoes, fresh peas, a bunch of radishes, a shallot, fresh dill, pea shoots, artichoke hearts, feta cheese, and bacon! I’d call it a strong lineup.

Something else I had on hand but had completely forgotten about: tarragon vinegar! I like fresh tarragon but it’s an herb that I usually buy when making specific recipes. I don’t buy it the way I buy parsley, thyme or cilantro, knowing that I’ll find an easy way to use it in the immediate future. Solution? Vinegar! I bought some tarragon and a bottle of rice vinegar and just stuffed the leaves right in. After a few days I had an extremely tasty vinegar for salad dressings. Yesterday, I mixed it with olive oil, dijon mustard, and lemon juice. Into the potato salad it went! Delicious.

Spring Cleaning Potato Salad

Ingredients:

1 lb. Baby Dutch or New Potatoes

5 Bacon Strips

1 C Fresh, Shelled Peas

1 Bunch Radishes, cleaned and thinly sliced

1 Large Shallot, diced

4 Canned Artichoke Hearts, Chopped

¼ C Chopped Fresh Dill

1 Handful Fresh Pea Shoots

3 T EVOO

1 T Tarragon Vinegar

1 tsp Dijon Mustard

2 tsp Fresh Lemon Juice

S+P

Feta Cheese for Crumbling

Directions: In a medium pot, boil potatoes until just tender. Rinse under cold water in a colander and set aside. While potatoes are cooling, cook the bacon in a large skillet over medium high heat until well browned on both sides. Remove from skillet and let cool on a plate covered with a paper towel. In a small saucepan, blanche the peas by adding them to boiling water and cooking for one minute. Remove from heat, strain and rinse under cold water.

In a large bowl, combine the peas, radishes, shallot, dill, and pea shoots. Slice cooled potatoes according to preference and add to large bowl. Chop bacon and add to bowl.

In a small bowl, whisk together the olive oil, vinegar, mustard and lemon juice. Add salt and pepper to taste. Drizzle over salad. Add feta cheese crumbles to suit your taste.

4 thoughts on “Spring Cleaning / Potato Salad

  1. Pingback: Bacon and Swiss Stuffed Burgers with Greek Yogurt Potato Salad « LauraLovingLife

Leave a Reply

