Mediterranean(ish) Turkey Burgers

Under no circumstances will my love for grilling become diminished. I really can’t think of anything in the known universe that could displace my devotion to all slightly charred edibles. Try me. Yesterday I noticed two pieces of flatbread that had been neglected and probably wouldn’t be around much longer. Usually my response to this type of discovery is to toss it in the freezer and walk away as if nothing had happened. These days, my freezer is super occupied with housing ice cream, so the next best plan of action I could effect was tossing the bread on the grill. After a quick jaunt to the store I threw together some turkey burgers, Mediterranean style, to go with my salvaged flatbread.

I know I always say that “I just threw this together” but these burgers came together in record time. Ground turkey, fresh rosemary, ground paprika, garlic, diced shallot, salt, pepper and olive oil go into a bowl. After a quick mash, mash, knead, roll, pat, burger patties emerge. Put them on the grill with a whole red bell pepper and you are less than 15 minutes from eating. I topped my flatbread with fresh mache (lamb’s lettuce,) feta and olives. I intended to use Kalamatas but for the first time in the history of my adult life, when I opened the fridge to retrieve them, there were none to be found. It was shocking. I used black olives instead which were fine but not the same. If you have Kalamata olives, please use them! These burgers would be great with a smear of hummus or tahini sauce. We ate them with garlic mustard aioli. It’s from a jar… I’ve already said too much!

Mediterranean Turkey Burgers

Serves 4

Ingredients:

1 lb. Lean Ground Turkey

1 Large Shallot, Diced

4 Garlic Cloves, minced

2 T Chopped Fresh Rosemary

1 tsp Ground Paprika

2 T Olive Oil, separated + extra for brushing

1 tsp Fresh Lemon Juice

S+P

1 Red Bell Pepper

2 Large Handfulls Mache or Lambs Lettuce

1/3 C Black or Kalamata Olives, pilled and halved

4 Pieces Whole Wheat Flatbread (I bought mine at Trader Joe’s)

Feta Crumbles

Directions: In a large bowl, combine turkey meat, shallot, garlic, rosemary, paprika, salt, pepper and 2 T olive oil. Knead mixture with hands until well combined and then shape into 4 patties. Heat grill on high heat. Brush grill with oil and arrange patties on grill. Brush red pepper with olive oil and set on grill, turning every 40 seconds or so until all sides are charred. Remove from heat, slice and set aside. Cook turkey patties undisturbed until marked on the bottom, approx 4-5 minutes. Give patties a quarter turn and cook another 4-5 minutes before flipping over. Cook about 7 minutes after flipping. Serve on flatbread with red pepper slices, mache, olives and flatbread.

5 thoughts on “Mediterranean(ish) Turkey Burgers

  1. I can feel my tummy rumbling just from looking at those juicy turkey burgers. I never would have thought to make turkey burgers but I’m gonna have to give these a try.

Leave a Reply

