Approximate Salad

The last couple of weeks have been a bit foggy. Even through the veil of normalcy in carrying on with daily routines, it’s been clear that changes in our dog’s health have taken their emotional toll on us. One day last week, for the first time since this landslide of uncertainty began, our dog was acting energetic and healthy. Just to watch him padding up the block, sniffing each tree and leaf along the way, detecting what had happened in his week-long absence, was enormous relief. It was cause for celebration! That night, my husband and I went to one of my absolute favorite Los Angeles eateries: Pizzeria Mozza. We had two pizzas (squash blossoms / burrata, and goat cheese / leek / bacon) along with a super leafy salad and a small bowl of purple brussels sprouts with walnuts and avocado. I took one bite and realized I’d need to make this at home.

Maybe it was the bottle of Primitivo talking, but in the moment of that first bite I thought This is the best thing I’ve ever tasted. My second thought was I need at least 30 more bites of this, which was followed by Where the #@*% am I going to find purple brussels sprouts? I really don’t think I’ve ever seen them anywhere but I wish they’d make their presence known! I was planning to make pizza at home last night and wanted a similar salad so I settle for Radicchio. Yeah, I hear you, radicchio and brussels sprouts = NOT SIMILAR but I had a head of radicchio in my fridge and I did not have purple brussels. I’d rather have an approximate salad than no salad. In the meantime, I’m still on the hunt for tiny red cabbages. Where are they hiding?

Radicchio, Walnut & Avocado Salad

Serves 2

Ingredients:

1 Head Radicchio, washed, trimmed and cut into ribbons

1/2 Large Avocado, halved, pitted and cut into cubes

1/4 C Toasted Walnut Halves coarsely chopped

2 T Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 T White Balsamic Vinegar

1 tsp Lime Juice

Shaved Parmesan

S+P

Directions: Combine radicchio, avocado and walnuts in a medium bowl. In a small bowl, whisk together olive oil, vinegar and lime juice. Add salt and pepper to dressing until suited for your taste. Whisk again and drizzle over salad. Top with shaved parmesan and serve immediately.

 

3 thoughts on “Approximate Salad

  1. We had a long stretch of fog a while ago. I like it, it adds atmosphere :D. Isn’t raddichio ridiculously pretty? It may be approximate, but it sounds yummy. I think we have tiny red cabbages in work – I shall ask.

  2. I still haven’t been to PIzzeria Mozza, despite living very nearby for 4 years! I’ll taste vicariously through you and this salad 😉

Leave a Reply

